Sad Ice Cream

Saw this sad, sad ice cream in the gutter during the rain.

I worry that my approach may have startled away a very stereotypically depressed and lonely person who was sitting on the curb eating it.

What do you think?

Note: I’m on hiatus and am re-posting some of last year’s photos in the meantime. Enjoy!

13 comments on “Sad Ice Cream”

  1. I’m thinking you’re reminding me I have some unfinished business in my freezer. Thanks for the memories!

  2. Kat, here is some more info on what’s happening on that Zinke / White Hut corner per Yen’s realty site: New Urth Cafe in Pasadena

    I hope the White Hut remains & some of the Zinke remains. But California tends not to respect their architectural history as much as others.

    • Thanks, Cafe, I just checked it out. The proposed bldg doesn’t look too bad.. but even interesting faux spanish architecture begins to look very cookie-cutter when that’s all that’s getting approved by the city. Sigh. I wish someone would look to the great deco architecture in the city (e.g. the old United Artist’s Theatre next door, now the school supply store) and use that as inspiration. It’s what California did better than almost everyone else…

  3. If it was another flavor I might claim responsibility for it.

  4. I do read the Daily Dish…on a Weekly Dish basis. Last month someone just dropped Pasadena & Intelligentsia by my ear but I didn’t give it a 2nd thought. Like Urth, Intell comes with a good reputation but I just prefer locally owned & grown bizs over chain stores. We have to pray they will plan these to respect Pasadena uniqueness rather than just toss out another cookie-cutter joint. One way wood bee to hire a loco artist/designer.

    Also, you hope for businesses to open which offer higher paying jobs.

    • I agree about the jobs: and Intell is great, but it suddenly made me worry for my fave local– Jones. Same thing as with Urth. Although, with Pcc in town, opening up jobs to students is not a bad thing. But these def aren’t going to be jobs that families can rely on…

  5. Somehow, this pic reminds me of that great song of the 60s, MacArthur Park – someone left the icecream out in the rain – but it doesn’t scan as well as cake.

  6. And it is plain vanilla, not even a more dynamic flavor AND it is that cheap ice cream that is full of air and chemicals. Sooo sad.

  7. I’m still reeling over a situation that happened in Long beach, just about 10 years ago…I still don’t shop at Rite Aid.

    On second street in Belmont Shore, there was this fabulous art deco building with an Egyptian look to it. It was a local, independent pharmacy. They finally closed and sold the building as it was getting too hard for them to compete against the big pharma’s…Rite Aid bought it. It was my understanding that the City was in the process of designating it a historical building, but for some reason it wasn’t yet…Rite Aid came in one night, and demolished it on the QT…I was astounded…it was such classic architecture…and what did Rite Aid put up? A totally crappy cement box with absolutely awful blue diamonds …their signature architecture…. May God forgive them, because I sure can’t!!!

  8. Cafe…I’m still reeling over a situation that happened in Long beach, just about 10 years ago…I still don’t shop at Rite Aid.

    On second street in Belmont Shore, there was this fabulous art deco building with an Egyptian look to it. It was a local, independent pharmacy. They finally closed and sold the building as it was getting too hard for them to compete against the big pharma’s…Rite Aid bought it. It was my understanding that the City was in the process of designating it a historical building, but for some reason it wasn’t yet…Rite Aid came in one night, and demolished it on the QT…I was astounded…it was such classic architecture…and what did Rite Aid put up? A totally crappy cement box with absolutely awful blue diamonds …their signature architecture…. May God forgive them, because I sure can’t!!!


Leave a Reply

