Crossroads of the World

I was in traffic in Hollywood the other day, and randomly snapped this photo.

I don’t really know why I like it… I took it with my iphone (natch), with the Toy Camera app, so the results were random.

I guess, with all the traffic going by… it does look a little like the crossroads of the–

–well, Sunset Boulevard at least.

4 comments on “Crossroads of the World”

  1. The intensity of the colors really perks it up!!!

    • There’s something about the accidental quality of the “crossroads of the world” sign, plus the pickup truck and the suv that somehow say something to me. I recognize it’s not a great photo… But it hits my slightly ironic funny bone. Something about real crossroads vs fake ones (with our fake off-road vehicles on Sunset blvd — vehicles that will never see any more difficult action than a pot hole…) I dunno. I can’t explain it, the photo doesn’t express it fully– but it’s lurking there somewhere!

  2. I have a soft spot in my heart for this place. Coincidentally, John does, too. We looked it up and apparently Boris Karloff and Cesar Romero were at its opening in 1936.


Leave a Reply

