If Don Draper lived in Pasadena.

Sometimes real life looks like a television or movie set from the 60’s.

Condominium on California Blvd, Pasadena.

5 comments on “If Don Draper lived in Pasadena.”

  1. When you live in soCal, the reason real life looks like TV is because so much TV is shot here. When I first moved here I had this overwhelming feeling of nostalgia for the 60s, and at first I couldn’t figure out why. I hadn’t ever spent much time here. Finally I realized I’d been watching southern California on TV and in movies all my life.

    • I know what you mean! I remember once driving with a friend past a house and mentioned “that looks like it’s right out of The Brady Bunch.” He said “it IS The Brady Bunch house.” It was both exciting (I was new to LA) and a bummer. It looked better on tv.

  2. South Pasadena is a perfect example…it can be a street in Connecticut, a historical drama, a sixties, fifties…pretty much whatever you want…and they love filming!!!

    I have a confession though…I had to look up Don Draper…never watched Mad Men…started too, but it seemed a bit dark and at the time, I wasn’t in the mood…never got back to it….

  3. I’ve netflixed Mad Men and it’s here on my desk, waiting. Need to find out what everybody’s talking about. (I’ve heard scouts look for houses with generic landscaping. If it has palm trees, for example, it’s too geographically specific.)

  4. My confession is that I’ve never watched a full episode, either. It’s on my to-do list. From last year. Now I’ll have to start at season one before I can even THINK about season two!


Leave a Reply

