Street Shaves — a series of three

I have several types of photos taken in India that are fine pictures on their own, but that I realized reveal a little something more about the subject when presented as a series.

So today, here begins an occasional series of series, that will be presented in multiple posts over the course of one day.   This is number one of a three parter I’m calling called “Street Shaves.”

In every city we went to, big or small, you could see what we might consider some of the more private details of every day life taking place on the streets.

The street shave is one of those things. On one side, it’s an opportunity for a barber to make a living. On the other side, for a patron to receive a service he’s probably not able to perform at home.

And whether, like this example, the barber and his customer crouch on the street, or have a more elaborate setup, it was a ubiquitous morning activity wherever we went.

6 comments on “Street Shaves — a series of three”

  1. OH my what a cool picture. Isn’t it amazing the differences in lifestyles.
    I am anxious to see more.
    I love travel and never was much of a geography or history student but do love to learn this way.
    Thanks for sharing Kat!
    Hope your trip was fun and relaxing!

  2. Ditto de above commentator.
    This must bee one of your beyond Pasadena fotos. 😉

  3. […] Leave a Comment » WHAT AM I DOING TODAY, AN EXPLANATION; So, I think I’m going to use the next few Sundays to showcase the last of my favorite photos from our recent trip to London and India –sort of like I did with the three-photo series “Street Shaves.” […]

  4. […] WHAT AM I DOING TODAY, AN EXPLANATION; I’m using the next few Sundays to showcase the last of my favorite photos from our recent trip to London and India –sort of like I did with the three-photo series “Street Shaves.” […]


Leave a Reply

