Once upon a time…

…There was a cross-country highway known as “Route 66”  that was marked by little motels like this– hoppin’ little places that catered to people searching for sunshine and the California dream.

Today…  not so hoppin’.

The problem isn’t that the Hi-way Host ever left the highway… it’s that the highway left it.

Now the motel high and dry on East Colorado Boulevard, surrounded by appliance stores, Mexican delis and the occasional car lot.   But still the California sunshine, the silly hyphenated name, and the dream remains.

Although I suspect that for the people living in this motel today, there might be a whole different kind of California dreaming going on.

But that’s just a guess.

10 comments on “Once upon a time…”

  1. And, what did you think of the Pink Pussycat?
    Well, pray for Playhouse Elements.

    It takes two to make a dream. 🙂

    • lol!

      And definitely keeping fingers crossed for Elements! My husband and I are going to try to single-handedly support it, if we have to! For anayone else who might be dipping into this comment threat… Cafe and I had a brief exchange on his blog about Elements Kitchen, which just opened up in the restaurant space at the Pasadena Playhouse; They are amazing and well-worth the visit. The Chef, Onil Chibas, has a great touch and interesting choices, beautiful location and presentation. I think it’s up there with The Dining Room at the Langham. He’s a chef to keep an eye on. They’re starting to do an inexpensive prix fix dinner on Sunday nights, 3 courses and some great inexpensive wines by the glass. Totally worth a visit and a way to dip your toe in. If anyone wants to go– I’m in! We need to try to keep great restaurants like this in Pasadena, and Cafe brought up the fact that the Playhouse has, until now, been the graveyard of some good places.

  2. Nice! I really like the way you saturated the colors and made it even more like it came from a crayola box. I always notice those motels in East Pasadena — there are similar ones in Santa Monica on Pico, or maybe Olympic, I forget — such throwbacks to another era.

    I love your blog, Kat!

    • I love the design on these old place, too. Have you seen the ones up and down La Cienega, below Wilshire, and near the Farmer’s Market in Hwood? “The Farmers Daughter” was a great one until someone tried to cool it up. As for the saturated colors… One thing that I’m discovering, as I teach myself to do this, is that I like my photos to tell a mini-story of some kind (really, really, really, mini, usually!) and color can enhance that. I worry sometimes that it’s cheating, so I try not to go too crazy with it, but sometimes it’s just the perfect element…

  3. Sky blue and pink, my favorite colors! I’ve never noticed this motel before, but you’ve made me want to drive down there right now (and maybe pick up a few unnecessary things from Costplus World Markets)..

  4. K, I need to edit your comment to me above. I think you meant to type: “If anyone wants to go – I’m treating!!” 🙂

    Btw, if you’re gonna try to support Elements on your own, I doubt you’ll be able to afford anymore hot dogs!

  5. I always figured this hotel is where I was going to hide out after a crime spree…


Leave a Reply

