Encounter at Encounters

By: klikkonthis

Feb 24 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

6 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:192
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 3GS

Met some good friends –who were passing through Los Angeles toward Singapore and beyond– at Encounters restaurant at LAX.

In case you don’t know it, it’s that space-agey building at LAX with the blobby shaped body on top of white swoopy legs, that hovers over the parking garages.  It’s a design right out of “the Jetsons.”  All it needs is a few flying cars swooping dangerously close while Astro the dog covers his eyes with his paws and says “ruh-roh!”

The restaurant was closed for a while (chunks of concrete starting falling off, so they thought they should look into that)  but now, happily, it’s open again.

The elevator ride up alone is worth the trip there; the doors close, black and purple lights glow, and super funky space-age music plays you all the way up.

And then, once inside the restaurant…

Well, any place that decorates with stainless steel and giant lava lamps is okay by me.

6 comments on “Encounter at Encounters”

  1. Wow that does look cool! Not many airport restaurants have much character.

  2. I can just imagine the space-agey menu they have! Something like what they serve on the Space Shuttle I imagine. Really futuristic food!

  3. In all the many years that I have lived in SoCal, and been to LAX, I have never once stepped foot in this restaurant!!! And yet I’ve always wondered about it!!! Thank you for the brief look inside!!! And the Jetson’s reference is right on!!!

    Only one question remains…how’s the food???

    • Well… The food is good… But not awesome. I like it, appetizers are good, drinks are good. So, all in all, with the decor and location being the big selling points… 6 out of 10. With it a must do if you have friends passing through, or you want to have a kitchy evening out.

      And Lindy– I think we met you there once, didn’t we?

  4. I haven’t seen lava lamps in ages! Your photo alone attracted me to the place, but your description makes it sound even more fantastic and fun!

    • It’s the perfect place to go to when you’ve got a long wait at the airport. Personally, I love lava lamps. I have two of them that I keep in my office. 🙂


Leave a Reply

