Battle of the Stairs, part 3

By: klikkonthis

Jan 30 2010

Category: Uncategorized

5 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:219
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 3GS

Finally!  Last picture!  Here’s a larger version of the last stair photo.   This makes three posts today, which is a little against the “Photo of the Day” idea, I guess… but it’s my blog, right?   But, it means that as of tomorrow, people can go to the archive and pop back and forth between the two, larger photos and compare…

Story of the photos:  The other day I was out without my umbrella when a shower started, so I ducked under an overhang in an alley… and I noticed these curved steps.   I must have walked past them hundreds of times before without seeing them.  Kinda cool.  So, in the spirit of photo of the day, I took a couple pictures.  One looking at the steps facing west, one looking at the curved steps facing east. And then, oddly, when I showed them to my husband, he clearly preferred the photo taken from one direction, I favored the one taken in the other.

But why?

The photos, except for the angle, are almost identical.  Since it was a rainy, overcast day there’s no huge difference in the shadows… but I clearly prefer one photo.  My husband the other.

I have a pretty ridiculous theory, but I’m not going to share it.  I’m really curious to hear what you think.   Which do you like, and why?

So, comment whenever you see the pictures; today, tomorrow… weeks from now.  I’ve got no end-date agenda.   If/when comments come in, I’ll add my theory too.

5 comments on “Battle of the Stairs, part 3”

  1. Welcome to our Pasadena blogosphere!

    • Thanks Ann! I just looked at your blog, and took a look at the photos in the Pasadena city report. Some of those details (like ceiling in the council chambers) illustrate what I love so much about the art/architecture and history of pasadena. I’m glad to have now been introduced to your site!

  2. We have included your blog in our guide Around The World.

    The guide is both a record of old blogs and a listing of new blogs. Although originally arising from the “City Daily Photo Blog” lists this is an independent publication. Inclusion here does not imply that a blog qualifies for nor is officially a CDPB. Our criteria are that photographs mainly from and related to a specific geographical location (not necessarily a “city” but usually more specific than a whole country or region) are posted at dated intervals (not necessarily daily) and archives are kept which are readily searchable by date.

    Please keep us informed of any changes to your details.

    • Thanks for including me. I’ll be sure to let you know if/when any changed occur. I love the concept of City Daily Photo, whether they’re “daily” or not and I’m happy to be a new part of a great idea.

  3. […] Lomography, 10 golden rules of, Down Stairs Battle of the Stairs 2 Battle of the Stairs 3 Colorado Street Bridge Stairs To a Calm, Green […]


Leave a Reply

