Old Stove Love

By: klikkonthis

Jan 28 2010

Category: Uncategorized

5 Comments

I’ll be honest.  I am not a talented enough photographer to express in my pictures exactly what I think is fantastic about what I’m shooting.  And I’m not going to blame it on my iphone either.

Although, by mentioning my iphone, I am clearly using it as an excuse.

In any case, I love old stoves.  So much so, that we have one in our house even though it’s unreliable, occasionally leaks gas and once tried to blow up a repair guy, even after we warned him that old “O’Keefe and Merritt” didn’t like to be manhandled.  Fortunately, although there was a substantial boom, he only lost his eyebrows and his temper, and we didn’t lose our house.

My point being, again, I love old stoves.  This particular stove is at my local coffee place.  The original picture I took didn’t quite capture what I like about it — the chips and dings, the coffee stains, the fabulous ‘forties era design– so I cheated.  I used the app Camera Bag to  highlight those things.  I don’t feel guilty at all.

Although by mentioning that I don’t feel guilty, clearly I do.

I’m just happy that my Pasadena coffee shop loves old stoves like I do.

Note: Yesterday my site was approved by City Daily Photo, so welcome to any City Daily Photo readers who find their way here!

5 comments on “Old Stove Love”

  1. Loving this! I’m Jimbo.

  2. Very cool photo. I love the red and yellow tinge. Is that just the lighting? I have a very reliable 1950’s Magic Chef that the guy at Chuck’s said was worth restoring.

    • thanks! I have to confess that the slight red and yellow is largely a product of the “camera bag” iphone app I used. You can add one of several different kinds of filters to the photo. My original looked a little gray (not great lighting in the coffee shop) and didn’t bring out the clear colors of the actual object. Although… the doors of the oven, *are* a little yellowed, so maybe it didn’t add those, but just enhanced them.

      And we love our 50’s era stove, too! I can cook *and* feel cool and retro at the same time…

  3. I have the 1930’s version of the same stove, but have never had any such problems. Back in the 1920’s and 30’s appliances were made to last forever. And my 1930 General Electric refrigerator (uses almost no electricity since frost builds up on the freezer compartment and the refrigerator becomes an icebox, hardly ever turning on the compressor), my 1930’s stove (I can turn off the pilot light when not in use so doesn’t use a bit of natural gas when not in use, except in the winter I like to leave the pilot on since it heats the burner fold down cover and the cats use that for a heating pad to sleep) and my 1930’s two slice toaster which functions wonderfully and is Art Deco styled. Even the stories you see occasionally about the old carbon filament light bulbs still working continuously since the 1920’s in a pub in London or a fire station in some small town is actually not news, as the old carbon filament bulbs with the tit on the top (from how the glass was blown back then) never burn out, the only problem is they don’t provide a lot of light and they burn relatively warm, using too much energy, but you can make any light bulb last forever by putting a bulbsaver disk (available from hardware stores) inside the socket of any bulb; it will glow somewhat dimmer but will last a lifetime. In the old days manufactured things were built to last forever, but tastes and methods change.


Leave a Reply

